Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now!
Council on Legislation

Council on Legislation


Robert Bass, MD


The LSMS relies on the expertise and advice of its Council on Legislation to achieve its legislative goals. The Council directs all state and federal legislative activities in accordance with the actions and policies of the House of Delegates. The Council also organizes and coordinates the efforts of the LSMS regarding lobbying activities and member contact on key issues and/or legislation before the Louisiana Legislature and the Congress of the United States.

Council on Legislation Members
 1st District Councilor
Juan Gershanik, MD

2nd District Councilor
David Broussard, MD

3rd District Councilor
Irving Blatt, MD

4th District Councilor
Thomas Trawick, Jr., MD

5th District Councilor
Ezekiel Wetzel, MD

6th District Councilor
Michael Hanemann, Jr, MD

7th District Councilor
John VanHoose, II, MD

8th District Councilor
Samual Bledsoe, MD

9th District Councilor
Lawrence Simon, MD

10th District Councilor
Katherine Williams, MD


Young Physician Section
 Jeremy Henderson, MD 


Resident/Fellow Section
Patrick Torres, MD

Medical Student Section

Matthew Cutrer

1st District Alternate
Richard Dickey, MD


2nd District Alternate
Daniel Gallagher, MD


3rd District Alternate
Billy Hillman, Jr., MD


4th District Alternate
Richard Michael, MD


5th District Alternate



6th District Alternate
Everett Bonner, Jr. MD


7th District Alternate
John Noble, Jr., MD


8th District Alternate
Greg Bevels, MD


9th District Alternate
Jason Shumadine, MD


10th District Alternate
James Christopher, MD


Young Physician Alternate



Resident/Fellow Alternate


Medical Student Alternate
Patrick Johnson
Contact Us

Louisiana State Medical Society

6767 Perkins Road, Suite 100
Baton Rouge, LA 70808

Ph: 800.375.9508 | 225.763.8500
Fax: 225.768.5601
Quick Links
Join Now!
Member Login
About LSMS
Policy Finder
Advertising Info
Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal