Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now!
LSMS Physician Leaders

LSMS Physician Leaders

  Upcoming Meeting Dates  |  Minutes  

The Executive Committee of the Board of Governors serves as the trustee and the administrative board of the LSMS and transacts business for and on behalf of the Society in the interval between full Board of Governors and House of Delegates meetings. All terms expire on December 31, 2016.
   Luis M. Alvarado, MD
Franklinton, LA



 William "Beau" Clark, MD

Baton Rouge, LA

 Dolleen Licciardi, MD
River Ridge, LA
Immediate Past President

 Roderick Clark, MD
Lafayette, LA
Vice President


Richard J. Paddock, MD
Marrero, LA

Paul E. Perkowski, MD
Baton Rouge, LA

Speaker, House of Delegates

T. Steen Trawick, MD
Shreveport, LA
Vice Speaker, House of Delegates

  Robert A. Bass, MD
Alexandria, LA
Chair, Council on Legislation



Susan Bankston, MD
Baton Rouge, LA
Chair, Board of Councilors








Board of Councilors
The Board of Councilors serves as an appeals board for member-to-member disputes that cannot be resolved on a component society level, reviews issues regarding medical ethics and acts as a liaison to the component societies and members in the district. Councilors serve two-year terms; odd-numbered districts elect new councilors in odd-numbered years and even-numbered districts elect new councilors in even-numbered years. Susan M. Bankston, MD serves as Chair.
Juan Gershanik, MD (New Orleans)
Richard Dickey, MD (Mandeville)
Robert W. McCord, MD (River Ridge)
Robert Chugden, MD (Metairie)

Allen Vander, MD (Thibodaux)
Mark Hebert, MD (Thibodaux)
F. Jeff White III, MD (Shreveport)
Rick Michael, MD (Shreveport)

Ezekiel Wetzel, MD (Monroe)
Adrienne Williams, MD (Monroe)
Susan Bankston, MD (Baton Rouge)
David Philip Fargason, MD (Baton Rouge)

Brian Gamborg, MD (Lake Charles)
Yang-Tze Broussard, MD (Lake Charles)
Lance E. Templeton, MD (Alexandria)

Anthony P. Blalock, MD (Lafayette)
 Larry Simon, MD (Lafayette)
Nick Viviano, MD (Covington)
Special Interest Sections
The Young Physician Section, Senior Physician Section, Resident Section and Medical Student Section provide our members greater participation and representation in the affairs of the Louisiana State Medical Society and a more direct role in policy deliberations.
  • Young Physician Section - Jeremy Henderson, MD
  • Senior Physician Section  - Harold L. Ishler, Jr., MD
  • Resident & Fellow Section - Claude Pirtle, MD
  • Medical Student Section - Shannon Sparrow

Standing Committees
LSMS Standing Committees are established in the Society bylaws and are expected to meet at least once a year to perform duties as specified by its charge, the House or the Board.
  • Budget & Finance - R. Mark Williams, MD
  • Charter, Constitution & Bylaws - Gregory Sossaman, MD
  • CME Accreditation - Harold L. Ishler, Jr., MD
  • Medical-Legal Interprofessional Committee - Randolph L. Roig, MD



The LSMS has four Councils, serving as the primary work groups of the Society. Member-physicians consider pressing issues, then debate and provide recommendations to the Board of Governors and to the House on appropriate action.

Council on Legislation
- Robert Bass, MD, Chair
  • Directs all of the state and federal legislative activities of the LSMS in accordance with the actions and policies of the House of Delegates.
  • Advise the Society as to the appropriate course of action to achieve its legislative goals. The Council organizes and coordinates the efforts of the LSMS regarding lobbying activities and member contact on key issues and/or legislation before the Louisiana Legislature and the Congress of the United States.

Council on SocioEconomics - Lawrence Simon, MD, Chair

  • Monitor and research managed care issues and problems in Louisiana and when appropriate recommend solutions to those problems.
  • Advise the LSMS on appropriate actions to protect the basic rights inherent in the physician/patient relationship by monitoring the functions of utilization and quality review organizations as well as third party administrators that function within the state.
  • Act as a liaison with the insurance industry as well as third-party administrators, and advocate for the membership of the LSMS relative to matters of insurance that adversely affects both the physician and/or patient.

    Council on Member Services - Paul Perkowski, MD Chair

    • Be a source of knowledge as to the expected future physician manpower needs in the State of Louisiana. The Council advises the LSMS on in-state medical school curriculums and CME programs regarding the changing educational needs of practicing physicians both in clinical training and the socio-economic environment.
    • The Council shall develop programs and activities to recruit and retain those physicians and medical students residing in Louisiana into the unified structure (parish and state society) of organized medicine in the state.
    • Serve as a research and planning body for the development of materials and programs designed to foster a positive image of the medical profession in the health care community and public at large.
    • Promote coordination and improved communications between the LSMS and the state-wide medical specialty societies on issues of mutual interest in an effort to unify and strengthen physician advocacy and organized medicine in Louisiana.

    Council on Public Health - Louis Trachtman, MD Chair

    • Advise the LSMS on all aspects of medical care and treatment related to major chronic diseases and geriatric conditions affecting the people of Louisiana.
    • Provide planning, direction and coordination of LSMS activities relative to disaster and emergency medical planning, and develop as appropriate, recommendations to the LSMS relative to disaster or emergency medical services.
    • Advise the LSMS on all aspects of medical care and treatment of maternal and perinatal patients, children and adolescents in Louisiana.
    • Monitor the incidence and prevalence of mental illness and substance abuse problems within the state and make recommendations, when appropriate, to address major state-wide problems.
    • Advise the LSMS on the social issues and government policies that affect the public health of the people of the state, and develop knowledge and information regarding the importance of infectious disease control, accident prevention, environmental concerns, and occupational illnesses.


    AMA Delegation

    The AMA Delegation members attend the Interim and Annual Americal Medical Association (AMA) Meetings, providing representation for Louisiana physicians and LSMS members on national issues and AMA policy decisions. The LSMS' AMA Delegation is part of the regional Southeastern Delegation to the AMA.


    Floyd A. Buras, Jr., MD | Chair
    Dolleen Licciardi, MD | Vice Chair

    Richard Paddock, MD

    Lee Stevens, MD


    Alternate Delegates

    Luis Alvarado, MD

    Geoffrey Garrett, MD
    Claude Pirtle, MD
    Ezekiel Wetzel, MD


    Ex Officio Members

    Daniel H. Johnson, Jr, MD
    AMA Past President
    Donald J. Palmisano, MD

    AMA Past President







    Contact Us

    Louisiana State Medical Society

    6767 Perkins Road, Suite 100
    Baton Rouge, LA 70808

    Ph: 800.375.9508 | 225.763.8500
    Fax: 225.768.5601
    Quick Links
    Join Now!
    Member Login
    About LSMS
    Policy Finder
    Advertising Info
    Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal