CME Accreditation
Share |

The Louisiana State Medical Society’s accreditation of intrastate providers is accomplished through its Continuing Medical Education Accreditation Program (CMEAP). The program is overseen by the LSMS Committee on CME Accreditation, one of the standing committees of the Society. The CMEAP accredits different types of organizations; hospitals, professional societies, consortiums, and other healthcare–related organizations in Louisiana and Arkansas. The criteria used to accredit all organizations are identical and align with the requirements of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME).

Applying for Initial Accreditation of Your Organization’s CME Program

Each organization applying for initial accreditation will be required to pay the Initial Accreditation Fee prior to submitting their application. The application process for an organization seeking initial accreditation is as follows:

  • Submit application, self-study report and related materials to LSMS CME Department prior at least 120 days prior to the desired time of approval for accreditation.
  • LSMS CME Accreditation Committee will review all documentation, complete an application interview with organization, and make an accreditation decision.
  • Providers granted accreditation will be required to pay the initial accreditation fee for the length of the accreditation period.

In order to be considered for accreditation, in accordance with ACCME guidelines, organizations are required to present at least two approved CME activities within a 24-month period. These activities must be planned, completed, and evaluated prior to the initial application period. The application timeline for initial applicants is 12 – 18 months.

To continue your CME program, your organization must submit a Self-Study Report. The self-study process provides an opportunity for the provider to reflect on its program of CME. This process can help the organization assess its commitment to and the role in providing continuing medical education and determine its future direction. The LSMS has specific requirements for the self-study report content outline, but the process of conduction a self-study is unique to your organization.

Currently, there are 14 organizations accredited by the LSMS to provide activities

for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s) TM.
Baton Rouge General Medical Center   Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center
Children's Hospital   St. Francis Medical Center
CHRISTUS Health Shreveport - Bossier   St. Bernard's Medical Center
Correct Care, Inc.   Touro Infirmary
East Jefferson General Hospital   Willis Knighton Health System
Glenwood Regional Medical Center   Woman's Foundation, Inc.
Louisiana Regional Physician
Hospital Organization (LRPHO)
              Woman's Hospital


Providers accredited directly through the ACCME are listed below
Apex Innovations   LSU School of Medicine, New Orleans
Cardiovascular Institute of the South   New Orleans Academy of Ophthalmology
LAMMICO / Medical Interactive   Ochsner Clinic Foundation
LSU Health Sciences Center - Shreveport
School of Medicine
Tulane University Health Sciences Center


2020 LSMS Accreditation Fees
Initial Accreditation Fee   $2,500
Reaccreditation Fee   $2,500
Annual Accreditation Fee   $1,000
(Invoiced for full length of term at the time of accreditation decision)
Surveyor Fee   $0
(no fee, but all travel expenses reimbursed)
Annual Provider Fee             
(Determined and set forth by the ACCME and are subject to change)


LSMS CMEA Policy & Procedure Manual - click here
ACCME Criteria click Here
Initial Application - click here
AMA Booklet click Here

For more information about eligibility and our CME Accreditation program, please contact Sarah Edwards.