LSMS Educational & Research Foundation

The LSMS established the Educational & Research Foundation (LSMS ERF) for the purpose of funding educational endeavors, medical student scholarships and other activities to enhance the educational opportunities for physicians and medical students in Louisiana. Please consider making a donation to assist the LSMS ERF in its efforts. If you would like to make a contribution to the LSMS ERF, contact today!


Journal of the Louisiana State Medical Society

For over 160 years, the Journal of the Louisiana State Medical Society has been providing valuable scientific articles and information to physicians. Established in 1844, the Journal is one of the oldest periodicals of its kind in the country, featuring scientific information on clinical trials and treatments. Originally founded as the New Orleans Medical and Surgical Journal, the publication was "devoted to the cultivation of medicine and the associated sciences." In 1953, the name was changed to the Journal of the Louisiana State Medical Society. No matter what the name, the Journal is not only true to its original cause, but it has adapted to meet the needs of today’s physician.

Continuing a proud tradition, the purposes of the Journal are to serve as a repository of articles of interest to physicians and to serve as a means of communication among the members of the Louisiana State Medical Society. In January of 1878, 80 physicians representing 15 Louisiana parishes gathered in New Orleans and formed an organization that would come to be known as the Louisiana State Medical Society (LSMS). Since its inception, the LSMS has worked for a singular purpose: to advance health care in the state of Louisiana. Currently, the LSMS boasts a membership of over 6,000 physicians, residents, and medical school students.

Board of Trustees:

Chair: Geoffrey W. Garrett, MD – LifeCare Hospitals of Shreveport, Shreveport, LA
Vice Chair: K. Barton Farris, MD – West Jefferson Medical Center, Marrero, LA
Secretary/Treasurer: Richard Paddock, MD – West Jefferson Medical Center, Marrero, LA
Anthony P. Blalock, MD – Lafayette General Medical Center, Lafayette, LA
Editor-In-Chief: D. Luke Glancy, MD – LSUHSC, School of Medicine, New Orleans, LA
Associate Editor: Lester W. Johnson, MD – LSU Health, Monroe, LA
Fred A. Lopez, MD – LSUHSC, School of Medicine, New Orleans, LA

Learn More


Philip H. Jones, MD Scholarship Program
The P.H. Jones, MD, Memorial Scholarship Fund annually awards scholarships to medical students in financial need. Applicants must be a graduate of an accredited Louisiana high school, must be accepted or enrolled in one of the approved Louisiana medical schools as a full-time student in good standing, and must be a member of the LSMS. For additional information or to apply, please contact Sarah Edwards, LSMS Office & Events Manager,